Georgetown, KY Passes LGBTQ Fairness Ordinance 5-3

Georgetown — With a vote of 5-3 tonight, the Scott County, Kentucky town of Georgetown, population 34,395, became the thirteenth city in the commonwealth with a Fairness Ordinance prohibiting LGBTQ discrimination in employment, housing, and public accommodations.

Georgetown is the latest in a string of Kentucky cities that have recently voted to approve Fairness Ordinances this year, including the Northern Kentucky town of Dayton last month and the Western Kentucky city Henderson in May.

After narrowly voting to table the issue more than two years ago, members of the Georgetown City Council recently encouraged Mayor Tom Prather to bring the Fairness Ordinance back before the council for another vote. For more than four years, grassroots organizers working with the Rolling Bluegrass Chapter of Kentuckians For The Commonwealth (KFTC), Georgetown Fairness, and the Fairness Campaign have called on local leaders to protect LGBTQ people from discrimination. In 2016, the first Georgetown Pride Community Picnic was held by local advocates to raise awareness of LGBTQ discrimination and build support for the local Fairness Ordinance.

Twelve other Kentucky cities have adopted local Fairness Ordinances, covering just over a quarter of the state’s population—Louisville (1999), Lexington (1999), Covington (2003), Vicco (2013), Frankfort (2013), Morehead (2013), Danville (2014), Midway (2015), Paducah (2018), Maysville (2018), Henderson (2019), and Dayton (2019).

2020 will mark the 20th anniversary of the introduction of a Statewide Fairness Law, which has only ever received two informational hearings in the Kentucky General Assembly. This year, nearly a quarter of state legislators co-sponsored the measure.